Muncie Law Firm

(765) 663-4009 (844) 839-0270

DUI/DWI

Recent Posts in DUI/DWI Category

  • Challenging the Physical Evidence in Your DWI Case

    When you’re facing a charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you could be facing high fines, years in jail, and the loss of your license for a certain length of time. Because the stakes can be high in these cases, it’s vital to have a skilled criminal law attorney who can help you challenge any physical evidence the prosecution might use against you in court. Physical evidence in a DWI case can ...
    Continue Reading
  • When Does a DWI Become a Felony in Indiana?

    Many people are understandably nervous when they are arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). However, what they don’t understand is that not all DWI crimes can be considered misdemeanor offenses. Indiana law allows some DWI charges to become felonies rather than misdemeanors, which means a felony will be on your permanent record and you might also have to serve years in prison. ...
    Continue Reading
  • Understanding DWI Penalties in Indiana

    When a person drives while intoxicated (DWI), also known as operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI), he or she could be convicted and face severe penalties depending on a variety of factors. Blood alcohol content (BAC), the age of the defendant, and prior convictions all contribute to the severity of the charge. For example, a 1 st DWI conviction with a BAC ranging between 0.08% and 0.15% is a ...
    Continue Reading
  • 3 Questions to Ask Your DWI Attorney Before Hiring Them

    If you’ve never been accused of driving while intoxicated ( DWI ) before, you might not know where to begin after being arrested and released on bail. First and foremost, you need to ensure you have a skilled and experienced Muncie DWI attorney on your side who can help guide you through the process. To find the DWI lawyer that’s right for you, here are a few questions you should ask each ...
    Continue Reading
  • Defense for a DUI Accident Case

    DUI charges are serious and those convicted often face strict penalties. When an accident is added to the equation, however, the punishment can be much more severe, particularly if anyone was injured or killed. DUI convictions involving an accident are treated as felony offenses, costing individuals 8 years of imprisonment and a potential license suspension that can last up to 5 years. We ...
    Continue Reading
  • What to Do When Your Child Gets a DUI

    Your child is facing DUI charges. One of the first and most natural responses is, of course, to feel angry, disappointed, or even afraid, but it is important to set emotions aside for the sake of your child’s future and to immediately take action. DUI convictions are incredibly serious, capable of changing an individual’s life for many years to come, regardless of age. These charges are simply ...
    Continue Reading
  • Ignition Interlock Violation Defense

    If you were charged and convicted of a DUI and your driving privileges were conditionally reinstated, requiring that you get an ignition interlock device installed in your car, you know what an overwhelming stressor it can be. You have to blow into the device to start your car and periodically blow into it as you continue to drive. The ignition interlock also keeps record of all data, which is ...

    Continue Reading
  • Penalties for First-Time DUI Conviction

    If you have been arrested for a DUI, you know how overwhelming this situation can be and how intimidating the law is. It is important to understand that a DUI charge is not a conviction and you should do everything possible to fight it. One of the first steps you should take is to seek aggressive legal representation to protect your rights and help you navigate the complexities of the justice ...
    Continue Reading
  • Am I Required to Take a Breathalyzer Test?

    If you get pulled over for suspicion of operating a vehicle while intoxicated ( OWI ) in Indiana, do you have the right to refuse a breath test? According to state law, driving is considered a privilege – not a right. By getting behind the wheel, you automatically consent to a chemical test to measure your blood alcohol content (BAC). If a police officer has probable cause to believe you are drunk ...
    Continue Reading
  • Penalties for a First-Time OWI in Indiana

    Indiana prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI), also known as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). Penalties for OWIs vary based on a suspected driver’s BAC level, the age of any passengers, and the number and type of previous convictions. A first-time OWI with a BAC of .08% to .15% – or using an illegal drug or controlled substance – commits a Class ...
    Continue Reading
  • Is it a Requirement to Take a Chemical Test for an OWI?

    If you are pulled over under suspicion of OWI, you will be administered a chemical test in one of the following forms: Breath Test Blood Test Urine Test Under Indiana law, you are in fact required to take a chemical test when arrested for OWI because the state considers driving a privilege, not a right. As long as your arrest was made in a lawful manner, you are held to the state’s “implied ...
    Continue Reading
  • Increased Muncie DUI Patrols Expected on New Year's Eve

    With New Year’s Eve rapidly approaching, many Indiana residents are finalizing their plans and getting ready for a night of celebration and reflection of the passing year. While hailed by many as a last-hurrah of sorts, this holiday is not without its dark side: drunk drivers. Every year, law enforcement throughout the country ramp up their forces on New Year’s Eve in an effort to crack down on ...
    Continue Reading
Page 1 of 1