Indiana prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI), also known as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). Penalties for OWIs vary based on a suspected driver’s BAC level, the age of any passengers, and the number and type of previous convictions.
A first-time OWI with a BAC of .08% to .15% – or using an illegal drug or controlled substance – commits a Class C misdemeanor. A Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 60 days and a fine of up to $500.
However, if a suspected driver is arrested with a BAC of .15% or above, it is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Furthermore, if a vehicle is operated in a manner which endangers another person’s life, it is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $5,000.
If a suspected driver is arrested for an OWI with at least one passenger under 18 years of age, it is a Level 6 felony. A Level 6 felony ranges from six months to two and a half years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
How Brooke-Stevens, PC Can Help
If you were arrested and charged with a first-time OWI in Indiana, our Muncie criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to protecting your rights, reputation, and future. With more than 40 years of combined experience, we possess a thorough understanding of state driving laws to guide you through every step of the legal system and make sure you obtain the most favorable outcome possible.